top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Eat the Taco for Breakfast


Lets start with a few fundamentals. Breakfast Tacos are similar to other tacos, but you cant just slap some eggs, bacon, and cheese on a tortilla, add the appropriate amount of salsa, and call it a breakfast taco.

Actually, you can do that, I was wrong.

In fact we will think of that combination as pretty much the archetype of breakfast tacos, since I am controlling the conversation. If I go up to a new trailer, that is what I order - to check out the space, to get my taco bearings.

I fondly recall the best I ever had. Me and the Drumber were at a studio on St. Elmo recording some tasty tracks (Lick Lick's first album if you must know) and the taco truck pulled up. I ordered a bacon, egg, and cheese, and the egg was over easy and the bacon was thick chunks and it was amazing.

Why then is it so hard to get a decent breakfast taco?

Ingredients, mostly, and intention.

I am not wed to bacon, egg, and cheese tacos. I will enjoy with gusto all comers to the market, and all innovations of the kitchen. The umami of that combo is the level setter, but the actual ingredients can vary wildly. The Thai place near my house (Thai Fresh) has a pulled pork/egg taco that is crazy spectacular (with sriracha even), and Bouldin Creek Coffee Shop down the street has a fantastic variety of vegetarian and vegan tacos that are over the top in breakfast taco flavor.

These are places that focus on freshness and sustainability, and are just really good at delicious food. What about at home?

Here is my tip.

For me the key has always been bacon grease. This mornings taco had turkey bacon and scrambled eggs, both fried in a dollop of bacon grease, avocado slices (trying to eat all I can before the wall...) and some spoonfuls of my sisters homemade garden fresh salsa on a 50/50 corn/flour tortilla.

It was real good.

bottom of page